Oh no, no valentine on valentines day!!!

Valentine’s day is one of the most depressing days of the year! And no it’s not because it marked this year the 19th anniversary of “my loneliness”. It’s just that my Facebook wall was filled with love messages, hearts pictures and all that jazz. What really get on  my nerves, are those people who can’t stop posting things about how lonely they are as if they’ve never stopped and thought about that till NOW. 

Valentine’s day doesn’t necessarily mean that you have to have a lover or something. If you do, then it’s your day to celebrate it (even though I believe that love can always be celebrated and one doesn’t have to wait till the fourteenth of February to buy his or her loved one roses and chocolate boxes) but for those who don’t: it’s not a big deal. It’s really not the end of the world. It’s just a very normal day. It’s like Easter to non-Christians, you hear about it but you don’t have a reason to celebrate. You don’t have to get so upset about it and tweet or Facebook about it and drive me mad with all your stupid “no one loves me” posts (if you’re younger than 13 I’d probably block you :/)

Anyway, here’s why the so-called “nobody loves me” posts drive me crazy. I’ve never been that kind of girl who’s always been in a relationship. I don’t even remember the last time I’ve talked to a guy as a boyfriend. Some people think that I’m heartless or something because I’ve never been big on having a boyfriend. But here’s the truth about me: for a while, I was anti-having-a-boyfriend, that had to do with my mentality back then (I’m really happy though that I thought about relationships like that, because I had the chance to discover who I really am without any external influences) But now, given that I’m 19 now and I’m no longer that young anymore, I think that it’s sweet to have a “guy” in my life, but it’s not the end of the world if I don’t. I’ll never visit those dating websites, and I’ll never force myself to fall in love, but if someone comes along the way then he’s welcome, I guess.

Hereby, I want to emphasize that I’m happy with my life and one of the things that I’ve learned during the last 19 years, is that happiness depends on you and you’re the only person who gets to choose happiness and no one or nothing can change that. Don’t always attach your happiness to people or tangible things. Love will come, if it’s meant to be. But maybe some people are meant to stay alone. Maybe it brings out the best in them. Maybe I’m one of those people and maybe you’re too, who knows? I guess, all we can do now is waiting! But till then, always be happy J

(Can you count how many times I used the word “happy”? because I’ve lost count of that, a long while ago)

That’s all folks,

xxx

Leave a Reply

