Image

in defense of tears

Big girls don’t cry, right? WRONG! They do and even if they don’t, they should cry whenever they feel like it because it feels so good.

I remember when I first started the elementary school, I used to get told, whenever I cry, that I was a big girl now and I shouldn’t cry. Crying seemed  back then to be a childish thing and only little kids were allowed to cry. I never really understood why crying is only meant for babies.

Years later, I still do cry whenever I feel suffocated and sad. There were, however, many times when I promised myself that “if everything will be alright, I’ll never cry again” and then after I make my promise, everything would just be alright again. But then again I’d  face yet another hardship and the whole crying thing starts all over again. The main reason why I promised myself not to cry was because I thought that crying symbolizes weakness. Yes, weakness and this time don’t blame my mind for this. I actually learned that crying is a weakness from people and how they reacted to other “crying” people. I even heard someone who said proudly that he didn’t cry at his father’s funeral as it was some heroic thing. I didn’t want to be weak. I didn’t want to cry and I fought it every time I felt like it. Now I know that crying isn’t a sign of weakness. How can something weakens you if it makes you stronger. I usually feel really weak and vulnerable before I cry, and that’s when I let the tears flow.

Some people find it easier to talk about the things that sadden them. If that makes you feel better, then it’s totally fine. But I was and will never be that good at expressing my feelings specially when I’m sad. So crying might be just the right option for me.

So I guess everything that makes you feel better and relieved is OK, even if it’s crying. You’re only weak when you keep everything inside and not letting it out. It only burdens you and makes you breakable

“…you know that a good, long session of weeping can often make you feel better, even if your circumstances have not changed one bit.” ― Lemony Snicket

“Do not apologize for crying. Without this emotion, we are only robots.” ― Elizabeth Gilbert

Leave a Reply

