Image

chronophobia: fear of time

Chronophobia is described as the fear of time. It’s not the time itself that we fear, it’s the fear that time might be moving too fast.

I still remember the first time when I felt this, it was on my 16th birthday. I spent all my life (before turning 16) thinking of how cool being 16 would be and that life would be so different, which is partially wrong because the only thing that changed back then is the fact that I was one year older. But on my 16th birthday I couldn’t help but think of how time runs so fast and that I’ll never be 15 or 14 again. That’s how I spent the whole year thinking of getting old and no longer being able to enjoy life. Pretty dramatic for a 16-years-old lady. I was such a dramatic kid. But anyway, I’m aware now of the fact that age doesn’t really matter. What really matters is how you feel :).

Lately, however, I was faced unconsciously with the same fear again. It all started when I was thinking that even though I don’t have a perfect life, but I love it. I don’t have like a thousand friends but i do have friends that i can trust and count on. I’m not rich but I do have everything I need. I just couldn’t be more grateful. In this “state of gratitude” as I call it, the thought that someday my life will be different and it’ll not be as it’s now, crossed my mind. I suddenly thought of how all those days are passing by. Very tragic thoughts, I know, but that’s just how my mind functions.

The bright side of this whole thing is that whatever happens now will somehow prepare you to the future. I believe that everything happens for a reason and probably the things that make you happy today are the very beginning of greater things. If you’re really emotional like me, then you’re probably afraid of saying goodbye. Goodbyes aren’t that bad. Goodbyes are the “hello’s” to new things. Just be happy and appreciate everything that you’re going through now.

So those are the thoughts that I’ve been convincing my mind to think of. I don’t really know why I have to make everything seems so complicated.

Just think simple (I always say this to people, but I never follow my own advice :/)

Leave a Reply

