Image

When stress takes over!

Stress: a state of mental or emotional strain or tension resulting from adverse or demanding circumstances.

Stress, we’re all overwhelmed by stress if it’s either due to work, love life, school or anything else. Some people are really good at not letting stress to be the mister of their life. However I’m one girl who let stress take over her life.

There’s only one week left of this school year and if that means a thing than it means that I was for the last few weeks in a deep-sea full of tests and projects. I’ve always been bad at being apathetic and not caring at all, especially for school related things.  But besides school, I do have a social life. I have, like anybody else, a family and friends. And it happened  that both my study life and social life were going through stressful times, double trouble!

So what did I do to stop this stressful self-destructive behavior? meditating. Nothing fancy, just me and my thoughts (or without them). Just sitting down, acknowledging the problem and thinking about all the reasons behind this stressful attitude and eventually finding a solution, helped me a lot to let off this burden. So many times we feel stressed for no reason. It’s just how our bodies automatically react to those times when we have a lot to do and we don’t know where to start. But especially in those times we’re not supposed to be stressful.

I know that a lot of people don’t really believe in meditation, neither did I. But after trying it, it helped me a lot. It’s actually something that I’ve been wanting to do more frequently, and even though it takes literally no time (like 5 minutes), I just don’t know why I haven’t been doing it a lot :/

Plus if you’re Christian and you think that meditation is not for you (because of religious reasons) then you can always pray the Rosary. It’s the “Christian kind of mediation”. Though I think that meditation has really nothing to do with religion.

 

ps. meditation can take as much as you want. if you’re running  short of time then just take couple of breaths (that helps too!). and it can also takes hours. it just depends on how long you want it to be and how much time do you have

Leave a Reply

